Notification

I have returned from out of the country.  Unfortunately, while I was gone, my hard drive chose to die.  The one I work on.  With all my data.  Which was not backed up fully because people bitch that my data files take up too much space.  I have lost the past year or so of data.  My advisor is unwilling to pay the fee required to get the data off the dead hard drive.  While I scream at fate and attempt to reconstruct everything, postings may be sporadic.  If I believed in anything at all, that thing is having a damn good belly laugh at my expense right now.  End message.

3 Responses

  1. “Unfortunately, while I was gone, my hard drive chose to die.”

    Ugh, I’ve been there. I once had a double whammy: my office hard drive failed, so I went to get important files off my old laptop, only to have that drive fail before I could get anything.

    Best of luck sorting it out.

  2. “so I went to get important files off my old laptop, only to have that drive fail before I could get anything”

    Eeek! Don’t say it!!! You’ll jinx me!!

  3. If you have to threaten to boil the bones of your advisor’s pet rabbit down for soup, raise the money for a proper disk recovery.

    Good luck.

Leave a comment