A Mixed Media Presentation

Now that the grant progress report is finally in, I might actually be able to get something interesting done!  In the meantime, here is a mixed media presentation of things I find hilarious and interesting.

First, HPLC poetry!  It’s actually general chromatography poetry, but I love it just the same.  I’ve been composing silly haikus to my HPLC for years, but I thought it was just to amuse my labmates.  I think I might have to submit this one:

Little green men in
my HPLC desire
my early demise

Perhaps I could come up with a sonnet form?

Next up, The Inner Life of the Cell, from Havard.  If you haven’t already seen this, you should.  I got totally geeked out.  It really does a beautiful job of conveying the beauty of what’s going on in our cells every minute.

For your news reporting, the Onion ran an article on a son-of-a-bitch mouse.  I completely identify with this story.  This happens to me ALL the time!  I spend forever setting up this experiment, and then a mouse goes and solves it, or climbs his own tail, or decides he’s just not interested in the treats he’s being offered.  I swear they are out to ruin my thesis on purpose. 

Finally, Protein Synthesis: an Epic on the Cellular Level.  This was filmed in Berkeley, I think in the 70’s, and it is your daily dose of protein translation, combined with Lewis Carroll’s “Jabberwocky”.  FEEL the mRNA!  If you already know about the stuff involved, I recommend fast forwarding to 3:30.