Is that MY voice? OHwell

I tried to find a video of the Emperor’s New Groove where Yzma gets turned into a cat and it’s hilarious and adorable. But all I could find were fandubs, most of which were terrible. Why the heck do people make versions of this stuff and put it out there on the internet! It’s a big “hey everyone, look at me and how I wasted my time!” Except less cool than that.
200px-Yzma_cat.JPG
Anyway.
A week or so ago, Travis of Obesity Panacea, Jason of the Thoughtful Animal, Christie of Observations of a Nerd, and Sci all got together to record a podcast on things that might help you when you start out in grad school. Sci learned several things from this podcast:
1) My voice sounds really funny. Seriously, it sounds NOTHING like I hear in my head. I’m going to have to change my intonation on everything now so I can sound normal to myself.
2) Canadians really DO say “about” like that and it’s hilarious.
3) Christie is awesome. I mean, I knew this before, but really, she’s great.
4) My crutch phrase is “I mean”.
As a group, we also learned that we were all far too serious once the recording actually came on. When we do this again, there will be a two drink minimum. Also, it’s really hard not to interrupt people when you can’t SEE them. Hence, Sci has decided she wants to do a video podcast, using sockpuppets, because it would be both intentionally and probably unintentionally hilarious.
But anyway, here it is! I think we need to do another one, there’s a lot to cover, anyone got any specific questions they want answered?

8 Responses

  1. I think I sounded serious becayse was holding my breath most of the time not to laugh when Travis talked. I still crack up every time I hear him say “about”.

  2. What is it that makes your own voice sound different in your head? More importantly, is there some technical way to record myself in the very sexy voice I sound like I have in my own head, rather than the dislikable voice I hear when I record myself?

  3. Christie, I KNOW! I was giggling in my head the whole time. Sorry, Travis!!! 🙂

  4. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who thinks Travis sounds like a leprechaun.

  5. I listened to the podcast with the sole purpose of hearing Travis say about. I didn’t hear him say it once.:(
    I’m Canadian BTW and we say “about” just fine.
    Or perhaps it’s a regional thing, in BC it’s not aboot, it’s about.

  6. I listened to the podcast with the sole purpose of hearing Travis say about. I didn’t hear him say it once.:(
    I’m Canadian BTW and we say “about” just fine.
    Or perhaps it’s a regional thing, in BC it’s not aboot, it’s about.

  7. Now you’re slandering me all across the interwebs? The nerve of you Yankees!

    Seriously though, I’m from New Brunswick so if anything I say my R’s funny. I find Albertans often enjoyed the way I say “tournament” as well, although I’m not sure why.

    We really need to do it again, and I’ll make sure to sprinkle in “about” as liberally as possible next time.

    Travis

  8. What makes your recorded voice sound differently than your “real” (to you) voice is the fact that when you talk, you hear a lot of frequencies carried by the liquids and bones that make up your head. They don’t get carried so well by the air.
    DON’T get distressed by how your voice sounds in the recording.
    I’m getting told that I have a really pleasant voice, that I could work as a radio personality. When I hear my voice recordings I hear some idiot nasally quacking like a duck.

Leave a Reply

