In Which Sci is Stared At

You may have seen around SB the yearly meme of “who are you, and why are you looking at me”. Sci did not get to play last year, but this year…she’s rather curious.
funny-pictures-kitten-is-watched.jpg
Srsly.
So, as seen over at Ed’s and Drugmonkey:

Identify yourself in the comments. Even if you’ve never commented before, speak up. Who are you? Do you have a background in science? Are you interesting lay-person, practicing scientist, journalist, sentient virus, or something else? Are you a close friend, colleague, acquaintance or stranger?
Enlighten me.

I’ll go first.
Is Scicurious. Is nth year grad student at a Southern Institution. In reality, is large, chubby Siamese with a keyboard. Likes science, particularly that dealing with amusing hooman bodily functions.

32 Responses

  1. Lurker, on sabatical from work and school since last year; volunteering in a charity on a regular schedule (but I’m on vacation for the week); getting back to school in the life science next september; likes neuroscience and psychiatric research (especially regarding treatments and pharmacology).

  2. I have my MA in Psychology, but I don’t practice. I’m just a science nerd. I’m curious about most things in the world and a voracious reader. You, I read through the SciBlogs combined feed.

  3. nth year graduate student at the University of Connecticut. Work on epigenetic mechanisms in mammals, specifically genomic imprinting on the X. Sex chromosomes are wierd places

  4. Former English Translation and Interpretation major at Helsinki University, now watchmaker at one of the most respected (and exclusive) independent manufactures on the planet. Soon returning to Finland, to set up my own little workshop and join the very pregnant Mrs. Ink a few weeks before the baby’s due.
    Very much interested in all kinds of science and technology, and of course watches. My biggest traditional vice is single malt whisky. The second biggest is books. Although I do have rather more books than malts… for now…😛

  5. Computer geekery is my game. No real science background outside what I’ve learned from the interweb tubes. Otherwise, “[I’m] just this guy, you know?”

  6. Retired Jill of all trades (teacher, farmer, missionary (ex), translator, foster parent, writer, sales; you-name-it, I’ve done it), nature blogger. Some science training, ‘way back when.

  7. Iz cicely. Bored naow. Liks tasty sciens-NOMS.

  8. Aha. Spelling fail. Should be “lieks”.

  9. Electrical Engineer and de facto IT guy, laid off due to the economy, currently reading my RSS feeds instead of looking for work or finishing my thesis (at a Southern University, to use the local vernacular).

  10. Started reading Neurotopia maybe 2.5 years ago, enjoyed Evil Monkey’s posts on working through career issues, fighting back from apparent setbacks, etc. That dude should post more, btw. Ran across the Scicurious work at wordpress pretty close to the start, really enjoyed the basic-neuropharm stuff. It made me realize that it was stuff that I should be writing but since I have about five percent of SciC’s ability to communicate this in a digestible way…..

  11. Lurker 99% of the time, around here and at many of the blogs of your SciBlings. Trying to change that though, as I’m trying to get a blog of my own off the ground. Oh, and because human interaction is good for me, even when it’s through a computer screen.
    I’m a Microbiology major at Purdue University. I came in as a freshman with an excessive number of credits so I’m way ahead on my degree. As such, I’m about to spend my senior year immersing myself in an excessive amount of math and chemistry, all so that they’ll put a pretty “honors” next to Microbiology on my diploma.
    Math and chemistry are great and all, but I’m expecting a bit of biology withdrawal (this will be my first semester without a biology class in three years). This is my excuse for getting more involved rather than less in the science corner of the blogosphere, despite the fact that focusing on GREs and grad school applications might be more advisable for an ambitious college senior.
    I hang around here largely because my second academic love is psychology, and your depression posts kicked ass and caught my attention. Friday Weird Science doesn’t hurt either.

  12. Lurker 99% of the time, around here and at many of the blogs of your SciBlings. Trying to change that though, as I’m trying to get a blog of my own off the ground. Oh, and because human interaction is good for me, even when it’s through a computer screen.
    I’m a Microbiology major at Purdue University. I came in as a freshman with an excessive number of credits so I’m way ahead on my degree. As such, I’m about to spend my senior year immersing myself in an excessive amount of math and chemistry, all so that they’ll put a pretty “honors” next to Microbiology on my diploma.
    Math and chemistry are great and all, but I’m expecting a bit of biology withdrawal (this will be my first semester without a biology class in three years). This is my excuse for getting more involved rather than less in the science corner of the blogosphere, despite the fact that focusing on GREs and grad school applications might be more advisable for an ambitious college senior.
    I hang around here largely because my second academic love is psychology, and your depression posts kicked ass and caught my attention. Friday Weird Science doesn’t hurt either.

  13. I’m a nearly-finished Aerospace Engineer who intends to make a career out of low-carbon and local beer brewing. I’m here because I heart science! Blame Laelaps, I think I followed one of his links over here. And you’re a unique writer, very fun to read posts of.

  14. hmmm.
    iz about to become not-grad-student-anymore. should be working on teh documentz and teh job talkz, but iz tired of teh powerpoint animashuns. prefers to read sci’s blog.
    iz sorta neighborlike to sci. also liekz teh pharmacologeez n teh brainz.
    iz sufficient descripshun, yes? can haz cheezburger nao?

  15. hmmm.
    iz about to become not-grad-student-anymore. should be working on teh documentz and teh job talkz, but iz tired of teh powerpoint animashuns. prefers to read sci’s blog.
    iz sorta neighborlike to sci. also liekz teh pharmacologeez n teh brainz.
    iz sufficient descripshun, yes? can haz cheezburger nao?

  16. Software guy with time to kill. Came for the sex, stayed for the neuroscience🙂

  17. I’m a physicist / applied mathematician, working on stuff completely un-related to neuro-science, but as I’ve always found it fascinating, and you present it so well, I keep coming back. I think I first found your blog via the main scienceblogs page.

  18. (Semi-)retired IT professional, with some scientific (and math) training. I’ve self-educated in biochemistry, chaos/complexity theory, some neurobiology, and a few other subjects. I envy your ability to make these complex subjects understandable to people without the more specialized knowledge.
    I enjoy discussing subjects such as neuro-science, and especially challenging the prevailing viewpoint when/where I think it’s gotten stalled by a limited paradigm.

  19. Recent graduate of a BSc with Chem and Biochem majors, loves learning about the brain, hallucinogens, pharmacology and immunology. I loves reading and I loves writing, and am a regular reader of your blog of awesomeness🙂 Now I write my own blog – A Schooner of Science.

  20. I just lurk, I’m a masters student at some London uni doing neuroscience, which is how I found the place. Anything sciencey is good though.

  21. I’m just a friendly neighborhood organic chemist. I’m here for the molecules, even if they are mucking about inside cells.
    I, too, am a grad student at a southern university.
    And a lurker. Shame on me.

  22. I’m a software engineer with a background in astrophysics and a wide-ranging interest in various scientific subjects, including neuroscience. Other than that, I’m just a middle-aged crazy cat lady.

  23. I’m also a lurker.😦
    I’m a computer engineer, and I found this blog when Jake Young moved here from Pure Pedantry, but I really wish I had found it earlier! Big fan of Sci🙂

  24. Lurker mainly. Recent grad of MBA program, so I understand the stress of school, work, and life. Also “mom” to two demanding furballs. Major depression and addiction issues run in my family and I have found those posts to be both enlightening and interesting. Thankfully I seem to have escaped those tendencies, but my mother is very ill and I still struggle to understand the world she is trapped in.

  25. Chemistry undergrad who zooms about the internets to get the scoop on other’s experiences in science. Plus, all ya’lls are all kindsa smarter than me, so it helps. Found the blog when you blogged about alcohol just a little back, found it interesting, and bookmarked.

  26. I make computers behave nicely. I also have a charming, brilliant and beautiful significant-other in my life.

  27. I’m a teenage wannabe scientist, leaning toward neuroscience.

  28. I got interested in science way back when the Russians put Sputnik in orbit. I started out college with the intent to become a physicist but after struggling though Diff Eq realized I just didn’t have that level of math skill. Switched to business but have remained an interested spectator in all areas of discovery.

  29. I am a lover of sex and synapses, blogs and books. I admire (envy!) you and your great work/writing.

  30. Somewhat related professor at a different southern MRU. Not a scientist per se, but have taught statistics and research methods a few times…

  31. I’m an undergrad at the University of Michigan. I’m interested in neuroscience and specifically brain-computer interfaces and I loves me some science blogs. One day while hunting through the internet with a search like “neuroscience blog” I ended up here and added you to my google reader and the rest is history.

  32. […] but that’s not really a measure of impact. Instead, I try every year to take an assessment, set up a survey, and encourage people to respond, with things like their job, education level, and why they read. I […]

Leave a Reply

