Part the 4th: In which The New Scientist reviews Open Lab 2008 and Laelaps rocks my socks

As some of you may know, Scicurious has a post in Open Lab 2008. So I was totally excited when I heard that The New Scientist reviewed the book, and hoped for little accolades and tidbits to be dropped in Sci’s direction, as she’s pretty shameless that way. I was also especially interested in the review, as Sci will be the guest editor of this year’s Open Lab, and thus I wanted to know what to expect, what we could improve, and what stuff last year’s editors did really well.
By the way, you should SUBMIT TO OPEN LAB!!!!! (When I yell it like that, it makes me think of the second Superman movie, when the bad guy is all like “Kneel before Zod!” Yell it like that.)

That’s what I’m talkin’ bout.

So ANYWAY, little Sci bops over the internets to read the Open Lab review…
little bunny.jpg

Continue reading

Book Review: In which Sci reads the Dictionary

As I’m sure everyone knows by now, Sci LOVES getting books in the mail. Even if I paid for them, I still love seeing them show up in a box. Even better is when I pick them out of a store and get to cuddle them on the way home. So you can imagine how happy Sci was to see this show up at the door:
psychiatric dictionary.png
I’ve always wanted a specialized psychiatric dictionary, almost as bad as I’ve wanted a specialized pharmacologic dictionary. It’s a good thing to have handy, and is an even cooler thing to get in the mail. So Sci pranced around happily with her dictionary for a minute. All I have to do is review it and…
…and then Sci realized she was going to have to READ THE DICTIONARY.
Campbell’s Psychiatric Dictionary, 9th Edition, by Robert J. Campbell, MD.

Continue reading