‘Twas the day of experiments, and all through the lab…

Ok, that just gave me an idea for a poem. I think I have to write it.
But first: Giant’s Shoulders went up yesterday at Rigorous trivialities. And we’re in it. So yay. I particularly like the post by bayblab on the rise and fall of phrenology.
And tomorrow is a big day! It’s the day that PLoS is celebrating its birthday!! I wonder what the terrible twos will be like for a Journal. More fights with Nature? So there’s going to be a contest, blogging your favorite paper from PLoS, and whoever wins…wins. See Coturnix for details. I’m totally in, though I’m not sure I’ll have a lot of time to put something really good together. You think I can post more than once?
And now, Sci has to go and run a TON of experiments. The poem will have to wait. But it will happen! I am inspired.

4 Responses

  1. ’twas the day of experiments, and all through the lab…
    [choose one]
    …graduate students worked hard, in need of a nap.
    …not a rat was stirring, they were all dosed with nembutal.
    …recreational stimulant use, caused student collisions.
    i’m not good at this. bah.

  2. LOL. Actually, I DID compose an entire poem (two, in fact), and the best one will be posted…on Christmas. Because that works better.
    Hehe:
    ’twas the day of experiments, and all through the lab,
    the students were stuck hearing their advisor blab.
    No data could be run, work on publications was fleeting,
    because they were all stuck in this stupid lab meeting…

  3. Just a small clarification, SciC: It’s the second birthday of PLoS ONE. Many of the other PLoS journals are older, most significantly the flagship PLoS Biology, which is close to five years old.

  4. Whoops! Thanks, PP, this would be an instance of me not reading very closely…

Leave a Reply

