Friday Weird Science: My jugs and my joe.

*stands up bravely* Hi, my name is Scicurious, and I’m a…caffeine addict.
Well, currently I’m a recovering caffeine addict. I used to drink about 6 cups of coffee a day. The big travel mug size. I was even in a caffeine study where they needed high users, and they were shocked by my intake. It started out as just a latte every once in a while, and then…it became my life. Caffeine was my molecule, my totem. I had a tshirt and everything. But a couple of months ago I got sick of myself. And I went decaf.
I’ve been clean most days for the past 8 weeks, with relapses for long car drives and when I have to give presentations. So far, I’ve actually noticed that I have improved attention off caffeine. I’m much more successful at making myself stay awake in meetings, never having to fight the inevitable crash. And I’m less nervous. The real goal is not to kick a bad habit. Rather, it’s to try and decrease my tolerance to caffeine, so when I really need to it to write my thesis, I won’t have to drink enough to make me paranoid.
So what does this have to do with boobs? Breasts? Titties? Cans? Jugs? I’m sure you can think of even more euphamisms. But what exactly does coffee have to do with my mammary glands?
ResearchBlogging.org Jernstrom et al. “Coffee intake and CYP1A2*1F genotype predict breast volume in young women: implications for breast cancer” British Journal of Cancer, 2008.

Continue reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers