Maybe it’s because I’m so tired…

…but there are some HILARIOUS things on the blogs today.

First I should mention that a couple of other people covered the new paper out on face processing, and they did it far better than I.  I recommend Not Exactly Rocket Science (hell, I recommend that guy no matter WHAT he posts, always an excellent read). 

In the realm of things that are funny: A penguin has been knighted!  I think this may possibly have been the cutest ceremony in history (unless there was a ceremony in which particularly adorable orphans were presented with large stuffed polar bears and a year’s supply of candy).  I want a penguin knight for my very own, and he’ll swim around, saving penguin damsels in distress.  I can just see those little penguin damsels wearing pointy little pink distressed damsel hats.

Also, a Nature editor is going to get named after a plant as retribution for rejecting a manuscript.  I think it is hilariously male that be picked the enormous, turgidly tumescent plant, even though it smells like rotting meat. 

There’s a new hand-held thermocycler!  I don’t know about you, but I’m always on the go, and I just HAVE to carry my thermocycler around the lab with me, I can’t stand to do PCR in one place.  I can’t wait to see what the commercial for this one is like.

And there’s been a bunch of stuff about the personality of bloggers going around.  I took the test, also, but I’ll leave it to you all to guess what I got, if you really care ALL that much.  Personally, I’m a little more interested in a study that determines the personality of people who are most likely to go to grad school and suffer through 5-7 years of pain.  Then they can put us in therapy early in life.

Leave a Reply

