Weird Science: it’s Friday!

Unbelievable as it may be for a scientist, it seems that I need to get out more.  The scientist larval stage, or “grad student” is rarely seen outside the labs, but last night I ventured outside my known territory in the company of a few other larvae.  When not in the lab, the larval stage of the scientist doesn’t tend to move very far, stopping to rest and refuel at bars for long periods of time before continuing on. 

One of my fellow grad students brought up something truly awesome last night: A study covered in Nature News on condom breakage.  Being the completely immature teenager that I still am, I shared this with everyone in my lab, and now I’m going to share it with you!!! 

Warning: pictures of condoms and the mechansim may be NSFW, depending on who you are. Continue reading