Oldies but Goodies

Oldies but Goodies

There’s a science bloggers challenge going around from Skullsinthestars! I actually don’t know who this is (I hope he’s not famous or I shall be horribly ashamed), and I heard about it via Coturnix over at scienceblogs, a blogging site that I can only hope to aspire to one day. But the challenge is this:

My “challenge”, for those sciencebloggers who choose to accept it, is this: read and research an old, classic scientific paper and write a blog post about it. I recommend choosing something pre- World War II, as that was the era of hand-crafted, “in your basement”-style science. There’s a lot to learn not only about the ingenuity of researchers in an era when materials were not readily available, but also about the problems and concerns of scientists of that era, often things we take for granted now!

And from Coturnix: Put it in a proper historical, theoretical, methodological and philosophical context. You can always go back to blogging about the latest research or latest creationist idiocy tomorrow.

I have got to do this challenge! I’ve got ideas, and they’ve been kicking around in my head for a while now, so hopefully this will go up very soon.