Angiotensin-(1-7)

It’s that time of year.  The time of year when you can’t get anything DONE in the lab because you’re forever going to people’s dissertation defenses.  Not that this is a bad thing.  Sometimes it gives me a little bit of hope that MAYBE I’ll get out of here.  Usually it just makes me feel hopeless at all the work I still need to get done. 

But yesterday I got to see one of the girls in my department do a truly fantastic defense.  She is now officially Dr. Menon, and she has definitely earned it.  I watched her seminar with slack-jawed admiration.  She’s one of those people who you wish with all your heart you could be like, and yet she’s so nice and humble about it that you never get truly envious.  Her thesis is the kind of work that makes me proud to call myself a scientist, knowing that I am associated in some way with her amazing dedication.  And what she’s done is going to be BIG. Continue reading