IoweBora, do you? And a History of Sci.

Sci was very sad to see Bora leave Scienceblogs a few days ago. Bora really defined what SB was really about, at least to me. And without Bora, Sci wouldn’t be here at all. Let me ‘splain.

Two years ago this past May (WOW how time flies), Sci was feeling rather down about her career prospects. She wasn’t feeling like a good scientist, and she was wondering what the heck else one could do with a PhD. She went to a seminar at her MRU on alternative careers, and ran into a guy who was an editor for Scientific American. While the other people at the seminar were trying to get his attention with their sci-fi short stories and their work at a college paper in undergrad…Sci had nothing to compete with. Ok, I published some poetry when I was 12. I don’t think that counts. So when he turned to me and asked if I had any experience, all I could say was “well, my students think I’m a really good teacher…”.

The writer looked at me, and paused, and then said “that’s actually not a bad start”. And when Sci, emboldened, emailed him to ask for for advice he told me to go talk to this guy, Bora.

And Sci was NERVOUS. First off, she’d never really emailed someone who didn’t use their actual NAME in their email (really). She didn’t really know what this science blog thing was about. I’d never read one. In my mind, blogs were things you put on livejournal that were really either bitching about your life or a glorified slide show of your summer vacation. And then there was the whole idea of meeting a guy I didn’t know except through email at a random coffee shop in the middle of North Carolina.

But Bora put me perfectly at ease. He exudes kindness and enthusiasm (a lot of enthusiasm). He chatted with me and told me to start a blog.

Less than 24 hours later, Scicurious was born.

And here we are, at >3 posts a week for the last two years, with hundreds of thousands of words written, awards obtained, and even a book edited. And Sci has received endless encouragement, promotion, mentorship, and friendship from bloggers and readers far and wide.

Dang that Bora knew what he was doing. :)

So I Owe Bora a LOT. I bet some of you do too. And so I was thrilled when people on Twitter (I think Ed started it, he starts everything that Bora doesn’t) started a hashtag. I was even more thrilled to see that Abel had started a PayPal button where we could all attempt to let Bora know how much we care. So click on the that last link, or send Bora more Twitter love. He’s the blogfather of us all.

10 Responses

  1. Can *I* talk to you about blogging? You don’t need to be my Bora, but your post gives me so many more questions! You know how to reach me DM or email. :-)

  2. I’m definitely going to miss Bora. I’ll admit, I didn’t really stumble onto his blog (although I knew he was a central figure) until I was in a graduate-level sleep and circadian rhythms class. I was hooked. He’s an amazing writer, with amazing ability to explain complex ideas. A couple of his posts really helped me understand some of the beginning of the semester stuff on circadian regulation.

    So… #iowebora for having one of the highest grades in that class. (Lacking twitter and all…)

    I can’t even begin to fathom how much he meant to all the other scibloggers.

  3. “Means,” dear Tybo — “how much he means to all the other scibloggers.” I think that is what you meant to write. Bora still means so much to us, he’s just happily blogging somewhere else now and cooking up the Next Big Thing.

  4. HA HA HA! AmoebaMike cracks me up.

    And Bora is an incredible guy. We’re very lucky to have him.

    • wait… can I quote you on that? I’ll set up a testimonial page:

      The Great Isis of Science says, “AmoebaMike cracks me up.”

      I’m not joking. I’ll do it.

  5. [...] links to all the posts, but here is a good sampling. Check them all out: Danielle Lee, Henry Gee, SciCurious, DrugMonkey, Pal MD, Grrrlscientist (also here and also her farewell post), Dr.Isis, Ed Brayton, [...]

  6. You’re right, DeLene. I was mistaken in the tense there… I keep forgetting that he’ll still be around doing his thing (whatever he decides that is from here-on) even without Seed Media Group.

    (As an aside, the tense difference takes the tone from somber to a lot more optimistic!)

  7. I had no idea Bora played such a vital role in your blogging start. You are one of the most entertaining and engaging disseminators of science to a lay audience in the science blogosphere. I am very glad you ended up taking his advice.

  8. [...] started over at Stephanie’s, and for that I owe him a debt of gratitude. Not for helping me get started as a blogger, or for helping me find my place in the scientific community, or any number of other acts of [...]

  9. [...] En twitter se propuso el hashtag #IoweBora para rendirle merecido tributo y muchos como Scicurious escribieron acerca de como Bora afectó e influyó en sus vidas y en la [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

