Humans in Love

ResearchBlogging.org
A good while ago I did a Friday Weird Science which I thought was really cool. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t…weird…enough, and so I put it into poetry, because everything is better in verse. It was on Prairie Voles and monogamy, and was called Prairie Voles in Love:

Out on the lonely prairie, gazing at the stars above
I saw through the night
the wondrous sight
Of prairie voles in love

So you can imagine my happiness when I found out that it’s not just in voles!!! A study came out recently assessing changes in vasopressin in humans!
Walum et al. “Genetic variation in the vasopressin receptor 1a gene (AVPR1A) associates with pair-bonding behavior in humans.” PNAS, 105(37), 2008.

Continue reading

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers